Medical College of Wisconsin
CTSICores SearchResearch InformaticsREDCap

Mesh term Pharyngeal Muscles

Browse to parent terms:
Muscle, Skeletal


The muscles of the PHARYNX are voluntary muscles arranged in two layers. The external circular layer consists of three constrictors (superior, middle, and inferior). The internal longitudinal layer consists of the palatopharyngeus, the salpingopharyngeus, and the stylopharyngeus. During swallowing, the outer layer constricts the pharyngeal wall and the inner layer elevates pharynx and LARYNX.

Browse to child terms:
Esophageal Sphincter, Upper
Velopharyngeal Sphincter

Search for this term in our Faculty Database

View this term at the NCBI website